sols_6I need some snow. Not a snow for weeks at a time or anything. But enough to make me happy. I tweeted a few weeks ago that I wished I could be a weather reporter. You don’t really have to be right to keep your job! Imagine the security! haha…

When I was little, I learned what the map looked like if snow was possible in NC: there had to be a High in the south and a Low in the north. When I saw this combination, little chills of expectation would crawl up my body –SNOW DAYS!!! I can still feel that excitement when the weather dudes pretend it’s going to snow now.

Waking up this morning, there was some snow falling. The slow kind where you think it’s going to be a REALLY good snow. Then it started raining. Then it snowed. Then the sun came out. Then it started snowing again. Then the rain again. Now, the sun’s out — well, setting, actually. But, no snow. Foiled again!

I think the snow thing makes me think that global warming isn’t really happening. I know this is totally untrue, but….well, the child in me can still dream. I’ve read a couple of books that make the global warming idea one of the scariest I’ve encountered –even more than zombies or contagions! There’s just like no way to stay safe from the sun’s heat in these YA dystopia’s. Freaks me out just thinking about it right now. (Links to the book trailers for Scorch Trials by James Dasher and Solstice by PJ Hoover).

But, as far as my lack of snow accumulation goes, I’m just sad. I tried to find a song to show how I felt about the lack of snow, and, low and behold, I’m not the only one who sees this as important! Check out the New Yorker playlist for Snowstorm Nemo!

It’s one of my favorite bands, The Barenaked Ladies, though that really help me out. This song, “Snowman”, is about how poor Frosty doesn’t fit in. The plight of us all!!

