These are the reflection questions I asked my students today, so I thought I’d answer them myself….

1. Describe what you are most proud of regarding this project.

This is the second year I’ve participated in Slice of Life and honestly, becoming a “blogger” has been one of the most rewarding experiences for me. Before last year, I did write most days with my students, but it felt stifled and uncreative. I love that now I’m always on the look-out for a writing topic–even if I don’t develop it on the first go-around. I feel like a “real” writer.

2. How did you show effective writing skills?

Hmmm….I always re-read my posts before publishing them, then read the published version for any additional mistakes. If I find something, I edit it. I may not get every mistake, but I try! I think I’m also decently detailed and put forth effort to think about what will engage my audience, eliciting comments.

3. What personal writing issue did the blogging project help you overcome?

I have to be careful to not be too sarcastic when I write. Sometimes I think my ideal job would be to write for The Daily Show or The Colbert Report!! Most days I’m aware of this, but others, like last night’s post about The Idiot of the Year Award–I just can’t seem to help it.

4. When the month dragged on, how were you able to stick with the writing?

It’s funny, because I was really worried about this. Last year, I’d sit with my laptop, googling “What should I blog about today?” just trying to get a topic. However, this year, probably because I’ve continued to blog and practice looking for topics, I didn’t really have much of a problem. I did, however, buy a discount book from Books-A-Million on daily scrapbooking just in case I needed some inspiration. Reading others’ posts before I wrote sometimes helped. And, I made it a goal to try to match some media to highlight my slice for the day.

5. Describe how your Blogroll’s comments affected you; give some examples. How could comments be more effective?

(My students were in blog groups and added each other so they could comment–that way everyone had somebody reading and responding). I always read the comments of my fellow Slicers–they were like a validation that someone appreciated my view of the world. And I loved reading other posts so I could return the favor. I hope I can keep up with some of my favorite Slicers and remember to add comments to their posts during the rest of the year.

6. What problems occurred for you during our blogging? What strategies did you use to handle/overcome them?

(My students’ main problems would have been dial-up Internet service and not keeping up with the number of posts I asked them to write).

7. How effective do you feel you were when learning to embed videos and pictures? Explain.

A strength of mine, I believe. One of my favorites was Better of With Elvis because I used his song titles in a poem and embedded video of him singing. I also liked A Happy Place because of the picture, video and links I added to enhance my message.

8. What are some additional topics you’d like to write about?

(I wanted my students to start a list of topics to help them when they are stuck).

9. Was this project worth the new learning, headaches, and practice? Why or why not?

Blogging has become one of my favorite ways to write. Even when I’m sure no one is really reading or paying attention, just the act of “publishing” makes me happy. Definitely worth it to live as a writer!

10. What grade do you think you should have, based on your effort, personal commitment, amount of learning, and growth as a writer? Please explain in detail.

(I hate that I have to put a grade on this project for my students. I want them to have a sense of accomplishment without feeling penalized or comparing their readiness to others. However, I think I made the grading as fair as possible; I just wanted them to tell me how they viewed themselves.)

Once again, this month has flown by, but I’m indebted to this community for turning the lightbulbs of writing on again.  🙂

