Good grief, there are so many other things I need to be doing…like the laundry, or vegging out with the Law & Order: Criminal Intent marathon, or sweeping/mopping & getting rid of the clutter that is my house (this actually might be important since the Kevman’s parents are on the way in a few days), or lesson plans for the week…See, there’s so many OTHER things I need to be doing rather than taking the time to write today.

I finished a YA lit book, The Tension of Opposites by Kristina McBride….It’s a book that I know most of my girls will like. A book about friendship, love, and choices. The main character, Tessa, lost her best friend, Noelle, two years ago to a kidnapping. Tessa has succeeded in cutting herself off from the world, too, in homage to her friend; however, she has also succeeded in becoming a great photographer–maybe because she lives in the past so much? Don’t pictures capture moments we want to hold on to? Anyway, Tessa meets the new boy at school, Max. who starts to help her wake up from her self-imposed exile. And just when Tessa starts believing she can have her own world again, Noelle miraculously finds her way back home. And, well…the rest of the book is about how the two girls make their way back to each other.

It was a good read that took me too long, most likely because so many other books have called me out. Books like Tension, though, are the books I need to be writing. I think I’ve made it okay to NOT write because I’m reading the sci-fi/dystopia/fantasy genres–books I like to read, but don’t feel a calling to write on my own. Tension, however, is a different story. While I read it, I kept marking places where I see the author’s deliberate movement toward tension, back-story, and  background noise (I’m not sure how else to describe it when those background noises we deal with every day are brought out into the open). These are specific techniques I need to remember while I’m revising my NaNoWriMo story. The one I’m attached to, yet don’t feel capable of finishing. A psyhologist from Psychology Today tells me that my procrastination is an outgrowth of perfectionism (Break a Perfectionism). Is it really, or just another way for me to pretend that there’s not a story in my head that other people would like to read? Maybe a little of both.

At the moment, though, I’m hoping I can use some of the alone time I have today to care enough about my own writing to actually do a little of it. Send positive thoughts my way! 😉

