My goodness…this month, while still a few days from being over, has FLOWN by! I’ve just vegged out today, really doing nothing except read and feel extremely lazy. Maybe it’s because Monday is a teacher workday that I’m taking off. Or maybe I’m just avoiding the work I know I need to do. My Scarlett-OHara-Syndome kicks in periodically!

So, I’m sitting around with my blog topic in the back of my mind–sniffing the air as if the topic’s scent will suddenly waft over –while innocently perusing YouTube. There are so many teachery videos (Yep, I know…I created a new word. English is an ever-changing language!). Anyway, I’m intrigued by a few educational minutiae topics: (1) are weekly evaluations or portfolios a better use of my time than daily activities that students may or may not complete/turn in? I had several students with failing grades the first grading period who suddenly saw the light last week and turned in just enough work to get a 70 (a D in my high-school-land). Okay…but did they LEARN anything? I gotta feeling….!!!! And (2) if I can write better daily objectives based on my state’s standards, will that help me either plan, or instruct, or assess?

So, the second question led me to search YouTube to see of anyone had posted anything for Dr. Robert Marzano (Wait…he’s a cuss word at my school!!!) I’d heard at a workshop last weekend that the good doc is trying to get away from his Classroom Strategies That Work because the educational literati have blown all his work out of proportion (Who’d have thunk that?????), and he’s more interested in how to form better objectives. Well, I can’t afford to buy THAT book yet (someone needs to tell the Kevman that another thirty bucks is a necessary evil!! haha), so YouTube to the rescue!

And then I find this video. Watch and then I’ll finish my comment:

The reason this matters is for one statement only: “…these sets of strategies that everybody should use, regardless of their subject area, grade level, and context…and that is absolutely not true. And actually recommending that is poor practice.” Wow!!! I got a dude in a particular position of power over me who needs to hear that sentiment!!!

I’ve told my colleagues several times that I’ve heard him say this at a conference and read it in print, but to have the actual video of the good doc saying it just confirms what I’ve known. The strategies he wrote about are just the tip of the iceberg for practices that work in the classroom. And a good teacher, an effective teacher, can pick and choose what works for his/her particular class on a particular day for a particular lesson. But not all strategies are meant to be used in every single lesson on every single day with every single student.

Okay, I’m feeling vindicated, so at my year-end evaluation, I’ll have a video to throw in if my lesson plans are questioned (which is a whole ‘nother story!). However, now I need to see if I can find something about writing better objectives!!

