Today’s a Poetry Friday poem…Tomorrow night, the moon is suppose to be closer to the earth, so it’s going to be HUGE!! (Here’s the CNN story: Weekend Full Moon). I love the moon–I love noticing it in different phases and learning different names for full moons. I’m pretty sure that I’ve passed this not-obsession of the moon to Jakeypoo and Lilybell. They both go through periods where they call my attention to the sky if I haven’t said something to them first (Okay, well, Jakeypoo hasn’t said anything about the moon in a while. Aren’t all 18 year-olds too “cool” to notice things with their mommy??).  Anyway, I remember that even as a little girl, I was always amazed that the moon “followed” me no matter where in the world I was. And tonight, I’m four hours away from home, with the suckiest Internet service in the world, making a wish on the moon outside my window…It makes me nostalgic and sad and hopeful. Here’s what it looks like tonight (I can’t wait until tomorrow night!!!)

And, I found the most amazing poem by one of my favorite poets….Just what I needed: another story idea for a novel I probably won’t write (but because I thought about it, SOMEONE will write it–at least that’s the way my friend Somer and I think of it!! haha..). Enjoy the poem:

who knows if the moon’s…

e.e.  cummings

who knows if the moon’s
a balloon,coming out of a keen city
in the sky–filled with pretty people?
(and if you and i should

get into it,if they
should take me and take you into their balloon,
why then
we’d go up higher with all the pretty people

than houses and steeples and clouds:
go sailing
away and away sailing into a keen
city which nobody’s ever visited,where

always
it’s
Spring)and everyone’s
in love and flowers pick themselves

