here’s a poem i found today….it’s by carl sandburg, a dude to whose house i took many a field trip when i was in elementary school. weirdest thing though, i don’t really remember reading any of his poems!! haha…..i had a horrible education!

How Much?

by Carl Sandburg

How much do you love me,  a million bushels?

Oh, a lot more than that, a lot more.

And tomorrow,maybe only a half  bushel?

Tomorrow maybe not even a half bushel.

And is this your heart  arithmetic?

This is the way the world measures the weather.

i have no idea what this means for the scholarly world…but when i read it, i thought about lily. she’s being much too clingy for my personal taste, and all this lovey-dovey-i-miss-my-mommy crap is getting old fast. however, that’s the problem. it will be over too fast–and she’ll soon begin to only love my heart “half a bushel”–sort of like jake (whose arithmetic doesn’t register negative numbers, so i don’t even exist anymore!!). i’ll be wishing for these sweet days when lily cries to stay with me and not go to “pea school” and wonder what she’ll do if she misses me.

but for now….she’s giving me an ulcer. 🙂

How Much?
by Carl Sandburg
How much do you love me, a million bushels?
Oh, a lot more than that, Oh, a lot more.  

And to-morrow maybe only half a bushel?
To-morrow maybe not even a half a bushel.  

And is this your heart arithmetic?
This is the way the wind measures the weather.
