This is the soundtrack to my day:

*Manic Monday (The Bangles): It’s just another manic Monday

I wish it were a Sunday
‘Cause that’s my funday
My I don’t have to runday
It’s just another manic Monday

–> just because i’m always behind on mondays; i stay up too late, get up late, and totally am late for work!! and, the boss is ALWAYS there on time because he doesn’t have to drop off at the sitters or pull a teenager out of the bed in the morning!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

*Shut Up (Simple Plan) — So shut up, shut up, shut up

Don’t wanna hear it
Get out, get out, get out
Get out of my way
Step up, step up, step up
You’ll never stop me
Nothing you say today
Is gonna bring me down

–>haha…today is the day before the state-wide writing test, and i could not get my 1st period to SHUT UP! it didn’t matter what i did–they talked right over me. i couldn’t wait for them to leave just so i could have some quiet!

*Fruitcakes (Jimmy Buffet) Fruitcakes in the kitchen

Fruitcakes on the street
Struttin naked through the crosswalk
In the middle of the week
Half-baked cookies in the oven
Half-baked people on the bus
There’s a little bit of fruitcake left in everyone of us

–>doesn’t every day need a little jimmy buffet?? well, my 2nd period is full of fruitcakes — who probably would be struttin’ naked on the street if they could!

*Don’t Stop Believin’ (Journey–but now the cast of Glee!)

Some will win, some will lose
Some were born to sing the blues
Oh, the movie never ends
It goes on and on and on and on

–>by the time 4th period rolled around (1:30),ย  i had decided to be more peppy & optimistic about the test. a teacher friend sat down with me earlier and helped me see that a coach would do that right before the big game, and tomorrow is sort of like a game. right? i decided during my planning time that some of my students will do well (pass) and others won’t, but there’s no more i can do about it. so i let it go. but i can still believe that things will work out positively. now, if i only knew the prompt!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

*I Say a Little Prayer for You (Dionne Warwick ala Glee soundtrack)

The moment I wake up
Before I put on my makeup
I say a little prayer for you
While combinโ€™ my hair now
And wonderinโ€™ what dress to wear now
I say a little prayer for you

–>well, here i am at the end of the day, praying for my sweet, mean, backwards, lovable sophomores to do well on a test that is not fair to them at all. i do hope they do well and are able to show that i’ve taught them SOMETHING. i hope that if you are reading this post, you’ll say a little prayer for them, too (believe me, they need ALL the help they can get!!) ๐Ÿ™‚

